If your company was not incorporated in Utah, but you wish to do business there, you need to register as a foreign entity with the state.
Acquiring Utah Foreign Qualification allows a company incorporated in Delaware or any other state to legally transact business in Utah.
Please note: information on this page is accurate to the best of our knowledge. However, requirements and costs can be changed by states at any time and Harvard Business Services cannot guarantee the accuracy of this information.
To acquire your Utah Certificate of Authority, the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code requires different forms and fees depending on what type of entity you are operating.
Foreign Qualification Requirements for LLCs:
Foreign Qualification Requirements for Corporations:
You must also appoint and list a Utah Registered Agent. The Registered Agent must be maintained at all times. Harvard Business Services can provide this service at a cost of just $99/year.
Harvard Business Services can assist with your application so you don’t have to deal with the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code directly. We do charge our own fee for this service, in addition to state fees. The exact fee can vary based upon whether your company is already filed and whether you need us to obtain additional documents to meet the state’s requirements. Please contact us for an exact quote.
Under Utah law, you need to apply for Certificate of Authority if you plan to:
For LLCs, Corporations (for-profit and non-profit), and LPs, all require a Certificate of Good Standing dated within 90 days of the application. Also, Utah requires a Registered Agent within the state with a physical address.
Keep in mind that even if a Utah Certificate of Authority is not required for a specific activity, a bank, vendor or another party can still require one in order to establish a relationship.
Once you have Foreign Qualification in Utah, the State of Utah requires all LLCs, Corporations (for-profit and non-profit), and LPs to submit an annual report. These reports must be submitted to the Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code each year at the end of the month of your anniversary date of when you started your business in Utah. (Example - If you started your business November 15th, you will have until November 30th to file your annual report.)
The fee for LLCs, for-profit Corporations, and LPs is $20, and can be filed online or through paper form.
The fee for a non-profit Corporation is $10 and can be filed online or through paper form.
If you do not remember your anniversay date, you can easily find it searching the Utah Business Database.
Please note that the annual requirements for your Utah Foreign Qualifcation are independent from requirements you may have in Delaware or other states.
Since 1981, Harvard Business Services, Inc. has helped form 362,825 Delaware corporations and LLCs for people all over the world.
Harvard Business Services, Inc. guarantees your annual Delaware Registered Agent Fee will remain fixed at $50 per company, per year, for the life of your company.
Harvard can provide assistance throughout the life of your company. These custom services are the most popular with our clients: