- Form a Company Now! +
- Services +
- Compare Prices +
- Learning Center +
- HBS Blog +
- Make Payments +
Related: Get an Alaska Registered Agent
If your company was not incorporated in Alaska, but you wish to do business there, you need to apply for an Alaska Certificate of Authority.
Known as Foreign Qualification, this process allows a company formed in Delaware or any other state to legally transact business in Alaska.
Please note: information on this page is accurate to the best of our knowledge. However, requirements and costs can be changed by states at any time and Harvard Business Services cannot guarantee the accuracy of this information.
Alaska requires an application to be submitted along with a fee of $350 for both LLCs and corporations, although the specific form required is different. Foreign LLCs and corporations are typically not required to provide any documentation from the home state.
Alaska’s application forms are somewhat unique in that they require, for both LLCs and corporations, disclosure of the names, addresses, and ownership percentage of anyone owning 5% or more of the company.
Lastly, you must appoint and maintain an Alaska Registered Agent at all times. We can provide this service for just $99 per year.
Harvard Business Services can assist with your application so you don’t have to deal with the Alaska Secretary of State directly. Our fee for this service is $179 (in addition to state fees). We can also obtain the necessary documents for you if you don’t already have them.
If you plan to do business in the state of Alaska, but your company was not formed in Alaska, you will often need to obtain Foreign Qualification. Typically, “doing business” is defined by activities such as maintaining a physical office or having employees in the state.
Alaska identifies some specific items that are excluded from their definition of transacting business:
This is not an exhaustive list. Additional information can be found in section 10.06.718 of Alaska’s corporate statutes.
Keep in mind that even if the state of Alaska does not require a Certificate of Authority for a specific activity, a bank, vendor or another party can still require one in order to establish a relationship.
Once registered as a foreign entity in Alaska, an initial report is due within six months. Then, you will be required to file a biennial (every two years) report with a fee of $200 to the state to stay in compliance. This applies to both LLCs and corporations.
Please note that this annual requirement is independent from requirements you may have in Delaware or other states.
Harvard can provide assistance throughout the life of your company. These custom services are the most popular with our clients: